I have arrived!

Sometimes all you need is twenty seconds of insane courage and something great will come of it.

– We Bought a Zoo

When I was in high school visiting Baylor, I heard about a journalism program where you can study in New York City. Even though I only applied to Baylor, this program was a big reason why I was excited about my major. Every interest meeting, I was there. When the application was posted for the 2012-2013 academic year, I filled it out and submitted it. I sent it in toward the middle of January and knew I would not hear until mid-March. During that stretch of time, the fear of failure started to seep in. I told my friends and family that I would just stay in Waco for my senior year. However, one March afternoon I was checking out the sweet shoe deals in Marshalls when an email caught my eye, telling me that I had been accepted to the Baylor in New York program. In two hours, I figured out that this was truly the chance of a lifetime.

So, here I am, after six months of the gruesome task of applying for internships. In early December, I had a phone interview with the social media department at CBS Sports and was offered the position the very next morning. With that taken care of, I had to make the transportation from Nike to professional…even though I’m chilling in my Nike sweats in my apartment right now. 

My family and I then drove to Dallas yesterday so that it would be easier to get to DFW before 6 a.m. I had supper with them and some friends from the Dallas area to both celebrate my birthday and to say goodbye to my friends before leaving for five months. I knew I was flying out the next morning, but it still didn’t really hit me. Then, as I hugged my family goodbye, went through security and turned around to wave a final goodbye, I realized that I was headed to the city that never sleeps…and I need my sleep.

The flight here was a cinch, but I was more concerned about the taxi ride. Secretly, I was hoping that I would land the cash cab and win some moneys. Instead, I had a soft-spoken driver that took me straight to where I needed to go and helped me with my bag all the way to the door.

In this apartment, I live with three other girls. It’s definitely an answer to prayer because we all truly get along. Right now, we’ve got the Packers/49ers game on the television and we’re all into it. More importantly, they all have great morals and are truly women of God. I’m excited to venture through this journey in my life with them.

The two adults over us are also great people of God. Our professor knows that God has planned for us all to be here and is praying that we only grow closer to Him while we’re here. Our RA is taking is to churches and teaching a class on how faith and jobs are truly intertwined.

Honestly, I’ve had a lot of different twenty seconds of insane courage, but I trust the One who planned this all.

Please keep us in our prayers that we not only remain safe while we’re here, but that we use this opportunity to minister to those that we could never have reached.

Leave a Reply

