Normal

Hey party people! I feel like my posts are so boring during the weekdays because I’m in the office for eight hours. So there’s that. But, when I left the office, I met up with my roommate and we walked to Columbus Circle to check out Whole Foods. We weren’t expecting much until we hung a right two blocks up and saw a huge glass building. In it was a mall with fancy stores. Across the street is Central Park, but we couldn’t really see anything because, duh, it’s night time. Right before we walked inside, it suddenly smelled like home … because there were horses with carriages. Also, there were some trees outside of the shopping center. Since it’s winter, there were no leaves on them. In place of the leaves were small white Christmas lights. It was really pretty.

Anyways, we go into Whole Foods and start to look around. For the record, I had no clue that it was all organic stuff so I was really confused by all the names that I had never seen before. The prices in there were ridiculous. Five bucks for six sticks of string cheese in a package. Eight bucks for a small container of chocolate. It was nuts.

Then, we came home and learned about the library the program has upstairs. And then, we came back to our apartment and cooked some Chef Boyardee ravioli. I’m tellin’ ya, today was full of crazy events, making for a super exciting blog post.

Let’s think about it. What I think is normal could be a serious upgrade for some people. When we were walking toward Whole Foods, there was a homeless person under a bundle of coats and blankets on the sidewalk. All you could see was its shoes barely sticking out from underneath. 

On days like this, it’s so easy to take things for granted. How many people get the chance to come to New York and test out their dreams? How many people get to be with a group of people that care about the wellness and safety of each other? How many people get to come home to a Diet Coke in the fridge?

It’s time like these where I don’t feel like I need God, let’s be real. When things are going smoothly and becoming routine, I feel like I’ve got it and it’s not a huge deal. That couldn’t be further from the truth. I don’t wake up without Him willing it. I don’t breathe without Him willing it. I don’t move without Him willing it. I don’t speak without Him willing it. I don’t figure out which way the train is going without Him willing it. I don’t walk to and from work safely without Him willing it. I don’t eat without Him willing it.

When you start to break things down like that, you realize how important it is to truly live every minute of your life. No matter where you are, don’t take normal days for granted. What is normal to you is neither controlled by you nor is it the worst thing in the world. Think about it. That place could have just looked at the bare trees like what normally happens in the winter; however, it decided to add those lights to really make them sparkle.

What should we do to make every moment in our lives sparkle? Live it in His will and live it well.

Leave a Reply

