Work

Today was just one of those days. I got to work at nine, took a five minute break to eat my PB&J and then continued working until five. I was going nonstop, but when it was time to send my boss the email checking off what I had done for the day, it was as if I had barely done a thing.

That, plus the COLD walk to the subway station and then home, added up for a grumpy Krista when I walked into my apartment. After just chillin’ out for a bit, God revealed a truth to me that I have known for a long time but that truly made sense in the moment. 

Ephesians 2:8-10

8 For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God, 9 not a result of works, so that no one may boast. 10 For we are his workmanship, created in Christ Jesus for good works, iwhich God prepared beforehand,that we should walk in them.

Yes, I know that this verse is said a lot, but how many times have we truly looked into it? Verse 8: It is by grace you are saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God.  

Okay, cool. What is grace? It is the love and mercy given to us by God because God desires for us to have it. We did nothing to earn it. So, by this thing hat we cannot earn, we have been saved.

Notice the word saved. Do we ever say something like – Thank you so much for saving me from eating my favorite kind of ice cream ? If you have, something’s wrong with you. Y’all, when we use the word saved, it’s from something bad and sometimes scary. Think about the Avengers. They saved the earth from the freaky looking aliens and homeboy with horns on his head. Nothing about that is good. 

So, what is faith? Faith is being sure of what you hope for and certain of what you do not see. People, prove to me that you have a heart. If you tell me it beats, I’ll tell you Biebs is inside you playing his drums. If you show me an x-ray, I’ll point to Photoshop. The only way you could truly prove to me that you have a heart is to take it out of your chest and hand it to me (which would be absolutely disgusting.) That’s faith. I sure hope I have a heart and I’m certain of it. 

Check out the next line. THIS IS NOT YOUR OWN DOING. Praise the Lord, Hallelujah, that my salvation is not based on what I do. If it was based on a day-to-day basis I’d be toast. This is such a burden for some people though, thinking that they have to carry the weight of perfection on their shoulders. Think of perfection like a basketball game. You play the entire 40 minutes and have to make every shot you take, have no turnovers, snag a steal or seven, be perfect from the charity stripe, not foul (that part’s hard) … and cross a dude over so hard that he falls to the ground. Perfection, people of America, only exists in Christ. 

Next phrase: it is the gift of God. Think about the presents you got for your birthday. What did you do to deserve them? Nothing. You should pass them along to your mom. Seriously. All we did was bust out all blue and alien-like and scream. The key here is that we don’t deserve it. Who am I that God would want to make me His own? 

Paul finishes it out in verse nine reminding us that our salvation with God is not dependent upon our works. 

So, after a day of work (full of golf…yuck) and extremely cold weather, I am reminded that I don’t deserve a day full of playing pick-up ball in Harlem (don’t tell Dad) or 80 degree weather running in Central Park. When I take that perspective, man do things change!

Leave a Reply

